Lemon Pudding Cake

DSC_0217a

Great British Bake Off Episode 4 — Desserts

Episode 4 revolved around different types of dessert: saucy puddings (signature), tiramisu (technical) and baked Alaska (showstopper).  I REALLY* wanted to make baked Alaska, but decided it was something that needed an audience and needed to be eaten right away.  With only two of us I figured most of it would just be wasted and I settled on a saucy pudding instead.  I considered making a molten chocolate lava cake, but the head judge is more of a vanilla/lemon person than a gooey chocolate person and I didn’t want to be responsible for eating an entire molten chocolate lave cake all by myself.  So I ended up making a simple lemon pudding cake.  I used a recipe I’ve made before, but instead of making one giant cake as I’ve done in the past, I divided the batter into 6 ramekins. It’s not super saucy (once again, I don’t think I would have won), and may not be super new and exciting, but it’s a dependable recipe that we always enjoy. Sometimes the old standbys are just what you need.

DSC_0218a

*One of my favorite movies as a kid was “Who Is Killing the Great Chefs of Europe?.” It’s a goofy comedy/mystery about famous chefs who are killed off one-by-one in ways that mimic their best-known dishes. The specialty of the last chef standing is a bombe.  I’m not sure if it’s exactly the same as baked Alaska, but that’s what I’ve always thought it was.  I’d still like to make a bombe (or baked Alaska) someday…

Leave a Reply

