Impulse Purchase

I few weeks ago I stepped into the grocery store and was confronted with a gigantic pyramid of mangoes – just one dollar apiece. I grabbed two and went on my way. When I got home I threw them on the counter and then promptly ignored them for the next week.  At some point I realized they were ripening way fast and moved them to the fridge. I finally decided I needed to do something with them and my first thought was to make a mango smoothie. Unfortunately, my blender committed hari-kari not too long ago so smoothies were out of the question. My next idea was mango salsa. I searched around and found this recipe. It was part of a trio of recipes that all looked tasty so I decided to make the whole lot – steaks seasoned with cinnamon, coriander, paprika, sugar, salt and cayenne; roasted garlic, white cheddar and chipotle mashed potatoes; mango salsa. We had house guests at the time and everyone agreed that all three recipes were keepers.

Mango Salsa

Bon Appetit

My house guests unwittingly ate one of the mangoes I planned to use for the salsa, so when I went to make it I had barely a cup of chopped mango. I cut back on the other ingredients accordingly, but I think my proportions were a little off and the salsa turned out kind of soupy. It still tasted great though, and made a nice sauce for the steaks.  The steak and mashed potato recipes can be found on the Bon Appetit website (see above link). I used NY strips instead of the tenderloin steaks called for and left the chipoltes out of the mashed potatoes.  One of our house guest was nine years old and insisted she loved PLAIN mashed potatoes. I figured I could sneak roasted garlic and cheese past her, but that chipotles might be a hard sell. The potatoes were great as is, but I think the chilis would have been a welcome addition.

  • 1/2 cup hot jalapeño jelly
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 2 1/2 cups chopped peeled pitted mango
  • 1 1/4 cups chopped red bell pepper
  • 3/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 jalapeño chili, minced

Whisk jelly and lime juice in large bowl. Mix in all remaining ingredients. Season to taste with salt and pepper. (Can be made 2 hours ahead. Cover; chill.)

3 thoughts on “Impulse Purchase

  1. this looks awesome, plus, I love your bowl. I made a delicious mango salsa the other day, and have a new appreciation for refreshing things like this with hot food…

  2. The contrast of the sweet salsa with the steak was nice. I’ve really been enjoying sweet/savory combinations lately. My current favorite is grilled cheese sandwiches made with sharp white cheddar and cinnamon-raisin bread. They’re fabulous!

Leave a Reply

