Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

I enjoy cooking with buttermilk, but I don’t do it enough to have a reliable supply in the fridge. So when I need some for a recipe I usually need to buy a container. The problem I run into is that most recipes I’ve tried tend to call for a cup or less, but I’ve never found it sold in half-pints. If I’m lucky I can find a pint-sized container, but every once in a while I’ve had to buy a quart or even a half-gallon. That’s a lot of buttermilk! My grandma used to drink it by the glassful, but I’ve never developed a taste for straight buttermilk. I hate to throw it away, so I usually end up making a series of biscuits, pancakes, waffles, cakes, etc. in a mad dash to use it up before it expires. Sometimes it gets incorporated into coleslaw or ranch dressing. I’ve even made buttermilk ice cream (which was OK, but I probably wouldn’t make it again). Anyway, I’m always looking for new ways to use up leftover buttermilk. These pancakes were the latest addition to my repertoire.

Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

Adapted from Joy the Baker

The only change I made was to leave out a half-cup of raisins.  I found that these browned really quickly and I burned a few along the way, so if you decide to give the recipe a try, keep a close eye on them.

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • heaping 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • healthy pinch of freshly ground nutmeg
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 1 tablespoon pure maple syrup
  • 4 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
  • ½ teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins
  • oil or cooking spray (for cooking)

In a large bowl beat eggs. Add buttermilk, butter, maple syrup and vanilla and mix well. Add flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, spices and salt. Mix well until mostly smooth. Let batter set for a few minutes.

Heat griddle or pan over medium heat. Add a teaspoon of oil to the pan or spray with cooking spray.

Pour 2 tablespoons of batter onto the griddle. Cook on the first side until bubbles that form start to pop. Flip the pancake over with a spatula and cook until golden brown. Repeat until all the batter is gone. Let cooked pancakes rest on a heat proof plate in a 200 degree F oven until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

